Live WNBA Games Coming to Twitter Beginning May 14

The Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) and Twitter (NYSE:TWTR) announced today a multiyear streaming deal that will bring live WNBA games to Twitter, beginning with the Dallas Wings at Phoenix Mercury game on Sunday, May 14 at 6 p.m. ET. This marks the first professional women’s sport to be live streamed on Twitter.

The WNBA will live stream 20 regular-season games per year on Twitter in 2017, 2018 and 2019. The games will be available alongside the real-time Twitter conversation starting May 14 at wnba.twitter.com and via @WNBA. The agreement also includes the WNBA joining Twitter’s Amplify program, which will include 40 highlight packages per week being featured across Twitter.

“We are thrilled to bring live WNBA games to Twitter, which will allow us to further showcase our league to a global audience,” said WNBA President Lisa Borders. “This partnership displays Twitter’s extraordinary commitment to women’s sports and the rising popularity of our athletes and our game.”

“We are excited to help extend the reach of women’s sports around the world by collaborating further with the NBA to be the home of weekly live WNBA games for the next three seasons,” said Anthony Noto, Twitter COO. “The growing women’s basketball fanbase will be able to turn to Twitter to watch free games side by side with the real-time conversation.”

The WNBA regular season tips off May 13 and runs through Sept. 3. Game tickets are available at www.wnba.com.

2017 Twitter Live Stream Schedule of WNBA Games

Date Matchup Time (ET)
Sunday, May 14 Dallas Wings @ Phoenix Mercury 6:00 PM
Friday, May 19 Phoenix Mercury @ San Antonio Stars 8:00 PM
Thursday, May 25 Dallas Wings @ San Antonio Stars 12:00 PM
Wednesday, June 7 Phoenix Mercury @ Indiana Fever 7:00 PM
Tuesday, June 27 Los Angeles Sparks @ Connecticut Sun 7:00 PM
Wednesday, June 28 Indiana Fever @ Chicago Sky 12:30 PM
Wednesday, July 5 Connecticut Sun @ San Antonio Stars 8:00 PM
Wednesday, July 12 Dallas Wings @ Chicago Sky 12:30 PM
Friday, July 14 Minnesota Lynx @ Phoenix Mercury 10:00 PM
Wednesday, July 19 Indiana Fever @ Phoenix Mercury 3:30 PM
Thursday, July 20 Indiana Fever @ San Antonio Stars 8:00 PM
Sunday, July 30 Indiana Fever @ Connecticut Sun 3:00 PM
Saturday, August 5 Seattle Storm @ San Antonio Stars 8:00 PM
Tuesday, August 8 Seattle Storm @ Connecticut Sun 7:00 PM
Saturday, August 12 Atlanta Dream @ San Antonio Stars 8:00 PM
Wednesday, August 23 Dallas Wings @ Connecticut Sun 7:00 PM
Friday, August 25 Minnesota Lynx @ San Antonio Stars 8:00 PM
Wednesday, August 30 Minnesota Lynx @ Indiana Fever 7:00 PM
Friday, September 1 Connecticut Sun @ Phoenix Mercury 10:00 PM
Sunday, September 3 Atlanta Dream @ Phoenix Mercury 4:00 PM

 

Tags: , , ,

 
 

About the author

The editorial team of Urban Magazine. All we need is our a team, a dollar and a dream. For editorial inquiries or general information - info@urbanmag-online.com

More posts by